Log in

Happ, Gregoire and Alonso to be honored

17 Nov 2017 3:02 PM | Brian Laurent (Administrator)
Keith Happ will receive the Professional of the Year Award posthumously
Keith Happ, former Green Section Agronomist with the USGA, will be recognized posthumously with the Ohio Turfgrass Foundation’s Professional of the Year Award. The award is one of the highest honors given by the organization in recognition of an individual’s dedicated service to the turfgrass community. Happ will be recognized on Monday, December 4th during OTF’s Annual Meeting, Awards and Scholarships Dinner.


During his 22-year tenure with the USGA, Happ was able to impact the lives of countless turf managers through his site visits, calls, speaking engagements and volunteer activities. He was immensely passionate about his work, his peers and his family.


Happ was a graduate of the Ohio State University and before joining the USGA, served as superintendent at Legend Lake Golf Course in Chardon, OH and also worked on the grounds crew at the Double Eagle Club while enrolled at Ohio State. We lost Keith on October 27, 2015, but will always be grateful for his leadership and friendship.


Ryan Gregoire of Agricultural Design will be honored with the Darian Daily Memorial Award. Named after the former head groundskeeper of the Cincinnati Bengals, the Darian Daily Memorial Award recognizes an individual that exemplifies Darian’s passion for the industry and people that serve within it.


Gregoire has long been an advocate for the industry. Through his board service, financial generosity and willingness to share his knowledge to anyone willing to listen, he continues to advance the profession and impact those around him.


Lonnie Alonso of Columbus Pest Control will be given the award for Environmental Stewardship for his years of advocacy for our industry. Alonso has spent multiple decades as the chairman of the Ohio Professional Applicators for Responsible Regulation (OPARR). As OPARR chair, he has worked with lawmakers to ensure sensible regulations and science based decisions.


The celebration dinner will be held at the Hilton Columbus Downtown beginning at 6:00 pm. All are welcome to join in honoring these individuals as well as OTF’s scholarship recipients.

Click here for information and registration

Call or Email Us:

3958 N. Hampton Drive
Powell, Ohio 43065

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software